Pricing
One simple commission. No surprises.
We make money only when you do. Students pay zero subscription fees to browse and book tutors; tutors keep 88% of session fees on the Free plan and 90% on Pro.
Free
R0/month
For new tutors getting started.
- ✓12% platform commission per session
- ✓Unlimited bookings
- ✓WhatsApp + email notifications
- ✓Weekly payouts (every Friday)
- ✓Public profile + reviews
- ✓Built-in video lessons
Pro
Best value above ~R15k/moR299/month
For tutors with a steady booking flow.
- ✓10% platform commission per session (vs 12%)
- ✓Everything in Free
- ✓Featured placement in search
- ✓Priority verification + support
- ✓Group classes & packages
- ✓Detailed analytics + earnings dashboard
- ✓Recurring weekly billing for your students
When does Pro pay for itself?
The Pro saving is 2% of your gross revenue. At R14,950 / month gross you break even on the R299 sub. Above that, Pro is strictly cheaper.
| Gross monthly revenue | Free (12%) | Pro (10% + R299) | Saving with Pro |
|---|---|---|---|
| R3 000 | R360 | R599 | ✗ R239 |
| R8 000 | R960 | R1 099 | ✗ R139 |
| R12 000 | R1 440 | R1 499 | ✗ R59 |
| R14 950 | R1 794 | R1 794 | = R0 |
| R25 000 | R3 000 | R2 799 | ✓ R201 |
| R40 000 | R4 800 | R4 299 | ✓ R501 |
How we compare
We're cheaper than every managed tutoring network in South Africa and more transparent than the marketplaces.
| Platform | Tutor takes home | Student pays subscription | Local SA payments |
|---|---|---|---|
| TutorPool (us) | 88% (Free) / 90% (Pro) | No | Yes — card & Instant EFT (Ozow) |
| Teach Me 2 | ~60-65% (estimated) | No | Yes |
| BrightSparkz | Not disclosed | No | Yes |
| Superprof | 100% | Yes — R99/mo to contact tutors | No |
| Turtlejar | Capped at R270/hr | No | Yes |
| TutorOcean | 80-100% (tiered) | No | No |
Sources: each platform's public website + our competitor analysis (May 2026). Where exact commission isn't published we mark "Not disclosed".
🆓
Free to browse
Search tutors, read reviews, view rates — no sign-up wall, no subscription.
🛡️
Verified tutors
Every tutor's ID, qualifications and CV are vetted (AI + human) before going live.
💳
Pay locally
Pay by card or Instant EFT via Ozow — billed by TutorPool in rands. No surprise global gateway fees.
Pricing FAQ
- Do you charge students a subscription?
- No. Students only pay for sessions they book. There's no fee to browse or message tutors.
- What does the commission cover?
- Payment processing, WhatsApp and email notifications, the built-in video room, dispute mediation, marketing to bring you students, and our finance/payouts engine.
- When do tutors get paid?
- Every Friday, automatically. Net earnings (sessions minus commission) go directly to the bank account on file.
- Can I cancel Pro anytime?
- Yes — Pro is month-to-month. You drop back to 12% commission the next billing day; no cancellation fee.
- What happens if a student doesn't show up?
- No-shows are charged 100% to the student per our cancellation policy. You still receive your normal payout.
- How do students pay?
- Students pay TutorPool directly, in rands, by card or Instant EFT via Ozow. TutorPool is the merchant of record: we collect the full session fee, then pay you your share on the weekly payout run.
- Are there hidden payment fees?
- No. The payment processing fee is already inside the 12% / 10% commission, not added on top.
Ready to start?
Sign up free. Switch to Pro any time you cross R14,950 monthly gross.